An Accomplished Woman

Comprehending a great deal

Accomplished: Lavender Sachets Sewn

leave a comment »

Silk sachets filled with lavender

Tonight, a Monday, I whipped up these three sachets (and took this awful picture of them).

Time: 2 hours or less if you keep the decorations simple

Difficulty: 2

Tools and Materials:

  • Rag bag slub silk scraps (eggplant and turquoise)
  • Dried lavender from the greenmarket ($10 for 1/2 pound and it’s gone a long way).
  • Sewing machine
  • Needle
  • Thread

Process:

  • Nothing fancy here.
  • I just cut a couple squares of the silk for each sachet (I pieced the stripes on the two striped ones)
  • Sewed up three sides
  • Clipped the corners
  • Turned them inside out
  • Filled 2/3 of the way full with the lavender
  • Folded the raw edges in
  • Whip stitched the opening closed.
  • I made the turquoise flower thing separately in a sort of freeform way. I just hand stitched around the edge of a randomly shaped scrap of silk and pulled tight, making a single petal. I did more the same way and stitched their raw edges (where they were pulled tight) all together. I covered the raggedy center by tacking a final poufy petal over it. Then I tacked the whole thing to the sachet.

Thoughts:

  • Very easy little project.
  • Makes a luxurious looking and smelling gift.
  • Happy Mother’s Day, mother in law.
  • I bought the bag of lavender on a whim. I love having way more than enough of something that I have no idea how I will use.
  • So far I’ve made about 10 sachets and 3 eye masks. Mostly for last minute gifts or to round out a care package.
  • Recommended.
Written by kdka

April 27, 2010 at 3:40 am

Leave a Reply

